Chicago-area Women Running for Office in 2018

women running for office in Chicago in 2018

The bad political news: Well, you know. The good news: In response, there are thousands of women running for office in Chicago, all over the country and the world.

Emily’s List, considered the largest national resource for women in politics, reported in December 2017 that more than 25,000 women had contacted the organization about running for office since the 2016 disaster, er, election. And more than 8,000 people had signed up to help women run for office. 

And if you know of a woman who you’d love to see in an elected office, the organization She Should Run has an Ask a Woman to Run for Office tool that lets you submit their names. The group has set out to get 250,000 women to run by the year 2030. #250KBY2030

Here in Chicago, to keep the momentum of this year’s Women’s March to the Polls going, we’re compiling a list of women candidates. As a bonus, we’ve also included women running for statewide office who aren’t in the Chicago area. We’ve also got a list of steps you can take to make sure you’re ready for the March 20, 2018, primary and the Nov. 6 general election. 

This ambitious list is very much a work in progress, so if you have any suggestions, recommendations or candidates’ names, please let us know!

Sort by:
First NameLast NameRunning ForPartyGeneral Election?Website
Marie Newman 3rd Congressional District D No www.marienewmanforcongress.com/
Maria Pappas Cook County Treasurer D Yes www.mariapappas.net/
Alyx S. Pattison State Representative, 4th District D No www.alyxpattison.org/
Maria Peterson Lake County Board, 17th District D Yes mariaforlakecounty.com/
Toni Preckwinkle Cook County Board President D Yes www.tonipreckwinkle.org/
Andrea Raila Cook County Assessor D No www.andreaforassessor.com/
Delia C. Ramirez State Representative, 4th District D Yes deliaforstaterep.com/
Tawana J. (T.J.) Robinson State Representative, 27th District D No www.tawanarobinson.com/
Karen Roothaan Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner Green Yes cookcountygreenparty.org/karen-roothaan-for-mwrd-board/
Nancy Rotering Attorney General D No www.friendsofnancy.com/
Ioana Salajanu Cook County Circuit Judge D No ioanaforjudge.com
Angie Sandoval Cook County Commissioner, 7th District D No www.angie-sandoval.com/
Evelyn Sanguinetti Lieutenant Governor R Yes www2.illinois.gov/ltg/
Dilara Sayeed State Representative, 5th District D No votedilara.com/
Janice D. Schakowsky 9th Congressional District D Yes www.janschakowsky.org/
Darlene Senger Comptroller R Yes www.linkedin.com/in/darlene-senger-candidate-illinois-comptroller-ba7ba318
Anne Shaw State Representative, 4th District D No www.neighborsforanneshaw.com/
Debra Shore Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner D Yes www.debrashore.org/
Julie Simpson Lake County Board, 18th District D Yes www.facebook.com/VoteJulieSimpson/
Deborah Sims Cook County Commissioner, 5th District D Yes www.deborahsims.org/
5 I like it
2 I don't like it

Karen Hawkins is the Founder and Rebelle in Chief of Rebellious Magazine. She is a recovering mainstream media reporter and editor who wants to thank her former boss for naming the online magazine she's always wanted to start when he called her “Rebellious” for taking too many weekends off. When she isn't instigating a media Rebellion, she's thanking her lucky starlets she gets to do whatever she wants on weekends.